Professional Reflection

I’ve learned so much in the process of creating this site and the technology guide. What started out as a fairly frustrating experience turned out to be quite rewarding for me personally and professionally. This is the first time I’ve built a website and explored some of these topics in great detail. I’ve already leveraged much of what I’ve learned over the last eight weeks in my role and have no doubt that it will continue to inform my work and our learning strategy.

The tool that I’ve explored the most during this class and expect to be the most effective in my role is social media and how it relates to learning.  The concept of social learning through the use of technology has the opportunity to change the way I think about learning in my current role. According to Bingham and Conner (2015) “The new social learning reframes social media from a mere marketing strategy to an approach that encourages and facilitates knowledge capture, transfer, and use, connecting people in a way consistent with how we naturally interact.” (p. 40). This is a place we just haven’t explored, but there’s great opportunity to do so. I plan to pursue how social media tools can connect our trainers with our subject matter experts (SMEs) that are all geographically dispersed across the country. While they connect through meetings, emails and instant messaging today, there isn’t a common repository or place for them to share knowledge, information and ask questions. A Facebook group would be a great tool to connect these two groups.

I’ve already shared my tool with a few people on my team as a way to expose them to the approach I’m taking to building my knowledge and skills. I’ve also shared a few of the articles I’ve read that offer really good advice and information on how to get started using the tools outlined in the technology guide. I expect we’ll use this tool and some of the resources included in it to begin exploring how we can better leverage mobile technology in our programs. Mobile learning will not meet the needs of all of the learners we serve, but can play a role in learning for our employees that are out on the road a lot and rely on their mobile device to stay connected to the organization. Mobile learning can provide these users great flexibility. Cone (2013) states that “by using it, the learner can access the learning whenever is most useful, access just the pertinent pieces, and navigate through the learning in a nonlinear fashion if desired” (p. 42). There are a lot of things to consider if we decide to go down this path, but it’s definitely something that are learners are asking us to pursue.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent building this site and the technology guide. I’ve already been able to leverage it to spark discussion and idea generation within my team. I look forward to continuing the work we’ve just started.

References

Bingham, T., & Conner, M. (2015). Transition and engage. TD: Talent Development69(8), 40-45.

Cone, J. (2013). Look before you leap into mobile learning. T+D67(6), 40-45.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

